Feature Friday: The story behind Absinthe

On Fridays I’m going to alternate between featuring some of our products, so you can learn more about them, and featuring other Etsy shops, bloggers, etc. I hope you’ll enjoy reading these features as much as I enjoy writing them!

Absinthe

Absinthe is a medium to dark green with a slight blue tint.

Absinthe was inspired by both the liquor & the green fairy that represents it. Here’s the definition, according to merriam-webster.com: a green liqueur which is flavored with wormwood, anise, and other aromatic herbs and commercial production of which is banned in many countries for health concerns; also : a liqueur resembling absinthe. 

Kylie Minogue as Absinthe

In Moulin Rouge, Kylie Minogue played the part of the green fairy. Her costume & look were absolutely beautiful. I wanted a shadow that invoked the feel of her character. Here’s a little video clip of the green fairy:

I tried to do some swatches of the color on my arm. The lighting is not the best though.

Here’s a simple look using the Absinthe on the eyes, cheeks, and over lipstick.

When I first made this color over a year ago, I had no idea the name would be so popular for eye shadows. I’d change it, but it would take away the entire meaning of this shadow. I hope you’ve enjoyed this post!
-Tina
About Dark Heart Designs

I make loose eye shadows, pressed eye shadows, lip slicks (lip gloss), and more. I also love writing, crafting and animals. I paint my own furniture, make my own curtains, decorations, clothing, and costumes. I'm currently living in South Georgia, but I’ve been all over the east coast since I grew up in the carnival industry. When you’re on the other end of the carnival, selling bright pink cotton candy, rainbow sno kones, and those lovely, red candy apples, you realize that on the midway, it’s all about how bright and flashy you can be. I think that’s what brought about my love of bright colors and dark contrasts. There’s nothing in this world like a carnival at night. My mission is to make beautiful, affordable cosmetics, and help people along the way. Dark Heart Designs is more than just a cosmetics company. I want it to be a resource, an inspiration, and a brand that makes you feel like you're a part of something. Make up is just the beginning.

Posted on January 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Omg this color is GORGEOUS!
    I love make-up period, but
    the color is GORGEOUS!

    http://kissesfromkryssie.blogspot.com
    http://youtube.com/user/krys1oh1x3

Leave a Reply

